Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Men's Cross Country Finishes Eighth in Paul Short Run Brown Race

Ryan Kredell
Ryan Kredell

BETHLEHEM, Pa. - The No. 21 Haverford College men's cross country team took an eighth place finish in the Paul Short Run Brown Race on Saturday afternoon at the Goodman Cross Country Course at Lehigh. The Fords scored 368 points to finish well clear of ninth-place finisher Southern New Hampshire (404 points) in the 8k race. Haverford eclipsed a bevy of Division I squads in the process, including regionally ranked sides from George Washington and Bucknell. 

First-year Ryan Kredell paced the Fords with a time of 25:15.0 for a 36th place finish while sophomore Max Brelig was just behind him in a personal-best 25:15.9, taking 37th overall. Sophomore Peter Buckley was the third Haverford runner to cross the finish in a personal-best time of 25:38.1 for 89th place. Junior Matt Katz was 96th overall, crossing in a time of 25:42.4, eclipsing his previous best by more than a minute. 

Senior Sam McCalpin took a 114th place overall showing in 25:49 to round out the Haverford scorers while senior Conor Madden crossed in 119th with a personal-best time of 25:50.5. Senior David Watt finished 155th in a new personal best of 26:03.3. First-year Aaron Bratt finished in 26:07.9 for 163rd, while senior James Barker rounded out the Haverford contingent in 27:03.1. 

In the 8K open race that began the day, junior Jack Hunter was the first Haverford finisher, crossing in a personal-best 26:02.5 just over a week after pacing the field in the Dan Talbot Open. Sophomore Nico Tripeny finished 154th (career-best 26:11.5) while senior Hiro Kawakatsu (career-best 26:21.8, 178th), junior Simon Perales (career-best 26:28.7, 193rd), and first-year Nathaniel Leighninger (26:33.2, 202nd) rounded out the top five finishers for Haverford. 

Men's Cross Country now returns to action in two weeks time, heading to Glassboro, N.J. for the Rowan Inter-Regional Border Battle. The race is slated to begin at 11:45 a.m.