Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Men's Squash Concludes CSA Championships with Loss to Wesleyan, 8-1

Tate Miller
Tate Miller

STAMFORD, Conn. - The No. 30 Haverford College men's squash team (13-4) was defeated by No. 28 Wesleyan (8-13) by a final of 8-1 on Sunday afternoon in the Conroy Cup consolation final. The match took place at the Chelsea Piers Connecticut complex on the final day of the College Squash Association (CSA) Men's Team Championships. 

Haverford finished sixth in the Conroy Cup grouping, and will take the No. 30 overall ranking into the offseason. The Fords' 13 wins this season tied for the second-most in program history, and Haverford's four losses were also the least in the history of the program. The Fords reached the 10-win mark for the fourth time in the last five seasons.

On Sunday, Haverford's win came during the first round of matches to hit the court, as Tate Miller was dominant in his sweep of Josh Lane. Miller's victory came in 11-7, 11-4, and 11-9 games at the third flight. The junior finishes the year with a 15-2 overall individual record, the best individual single-season record in program history (.882). Miller also matched the program single-season record with 15 individual wins.

The Fords showed prowess against a tough Cardinals side all afternoon long, with Keil Reedich giving William Bienstock all he could handle at the fourth flight. The match was a back-and-forth battle as Bienstock jetted out to 11-8 and 11-9 victories, respectively, in the first two games before Reedich responded with 11-5 and 11-8 wins. The match ultimately came down to the wire, with Bienstock grabbing a fifth-game victory over Reedich in a tense 11-8 decision.

First years Alden Weinberg and Aaron Witkin had strong showings at the eighth and ninth flights, respectively. Weinberg grabbed the first game from Andrew Doucette, while Witkin responded to a challenge from Scott Ji, taking the second game from his opponent.

Looking ahead to next season, The Fords look well equipped to continue their string of recent successes, despite losing the senior leadership of co-captains Ryan Dukarm and Alex Liu, along with the program's all-time career wins leader in Yash Singh. With Miller slated to be the sole senior on the ladder in 2019-20, the Fords will rely on current sophomores Davis Chase and Fitz Dougherty to take on an even larger role after completing a pair of stellar seasons.

The Fords will now await the announcement of the CSA Individual Championships pairings. The championships, hosted by Brown, will be held on March 1-3 in Providence, R.I.