Centennial Outdoor Championships Await Men's Track and Field

Liam Lynch
Liam Lynch

Centennial Conference Championship Central

HAVERFORD, Pa. – The Haverford College men's outdoor track and field team will open up the Centennial Conference championships on Friday in Baltimore, Md. and the campus of Johns Hopkins University.

The Fords have finished second in the last three seasons after capturing the Conference crown in 2012 and 2013. The Fords took home the Centennial title in each season from 1992-2009 and have never finished below second place at the Conference meet.

The Fords are expected to make an impact with a strong distance and middle distance contingent this weekend.

In the 400m dash, Liam Lynch is the second seed. In the 400m hurdles, Haverford is led by Zach Oji, who is the fifth overall seed. In the 800m, Haverford will see fourth-seeded Peter Kurtz and sixth-seeded Chris Goings lead a field that also includes Hiro Kawakatsu, James Barker and Ian Woodhouse.

The 1500m is led by second-seeded Greg Morgan and third-seeded Henry Woods as the Fords look for a title in the distance. Julian Schneider is the seventh seed while Lincoln Satterthwaite, Simon Perales, James Barker, Chris Gandolfo-Lucia and Marcelo Jauregui-Volpe will also run the distance.

Second-seeded Graham Peet and third-seeded James Stadler join fifth-seeded Satterthwaite in a busy 3000m steeplechase field that also includes Gandolfo-Lucia and Liam Bassett. Last season, Peet was named second-team All-Centennial conference in the steeplechase.

Woods is the top seeded individual in the 5000m run while Dylan Gearinger is second seeded in the event. Woods took home honorable mention honors in the distance a season ago. Morgan and Jimmy Gorman are the eighth and ninth seeds in the run, respectively. Graham Peet, Charlie Hale, Evan Hamilton, Sam McCalpin, James Stadler and Matthew Willig will also run the 5000m for the Fords.

The 10,000m, to be contested on Friday afternoon, features Gorman, Hamilton, Ryan Herlihy and Gearinger. Gorman was honorable mention All-Centennial conference in the 10k a season ago and will look to wrap up his senior season with a title in the distance.

In relay action, Greg Van Aken, Lynch, Oji and Frost will all compete in the 4x100 meter relay. The 4x400 meter relay squad for Haverford consists of Peter Kurtz, Chris Goings, Alex Frost and Liam Lynch.  The 4x800 meter team is Tyler Fong, Schneider, Kurtz and Morgan.

In the throwing events, George Avecillas is the 12th seed in the Javelin while Josiah Legaspi will compete in the shot put (17th seed), discus (18th) and hammer (sixth). The high jump includes Jack Brower as the seventh seed and Chris Glazer as the 11th seeded individual.

Cameron Albecht and Rohan Shukla will also compete for the Fords in the event.  Shukla and Glazer are also entrants in the long jump while sixth-seeded Van Aken will compete in the pole vault while also joining Glazer and Shukla in the triple jump.

Alex Frost and Oscar Huang will both run in the 100m, with Frost headlining the group with a 13th seed. Liam Lynch is the 10th seed in the 200m while Frost is seeded 12th in the distance.

Live results throughout the weekend will be avaliable via HaverfordAthletics.com and the Centennial Conference tournament central. The pole vault will be the first event contested by the men's squad, with jumps starting at 1:00 p.m. on Friday.